Local Spotlights, New Music, Olympia

Mount Eerie Announces Two New Albums

Timothy Grisham / February 22, 2012

Anacortes, Washington native  Mount Eerie, AKA Phil Elverum has announced not one, but two new albums.

The former Microphones main-man and his ever-evolving Mount Eerie project will be releasing two new albums in 2012 to follow up 2009’s Wind’s Poem. The record, Clear Moon, will be released on May 22nd via his own label, P.W. Elverum & Sun.

The companion record, Ocean Roar, will follow later in the year.

Both albums were recorded in usual Phil Elverum fasion, using analog equipment in Anacortes, Washington. According to a press release, Elverum found inspiration from avantgarde krautrock band Popol Vuh, as well as black metal experimentalists Menace Ruine, Nadja, and Wolves In The Throne Room.

Check out the tracklist for Clear Moon below.

In other Mount Eerie news: Olympia, Washington’s K Records just release the latest Dub Narcotic Disco Plate “Distorted Cymbals.”  DBN122 features the Mount Eerie A-side “Distorted Cymbals,” and a remix (version) by Selector Dub Narcotic on the b-side. The record is a homecoming of sorts for the former Olympia, Washington resident who put a significant portion of his catalog out on the indie-famous label.

You can hear the Selector Dub Narcotic version, “Anglepoise Cymbals” here:

Clear Moon Tracklist:
01. Through the Trees pt. 2
02. the Place Lives
03. the Place I Live
04. (something)
05. Lone Bell
06. House Shape
07. Over Dark Water
08. (something)
09. Clear Moon
10. Yawning Sky
11. (synthesizer)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *