Listen: Mogwai — “Earth Division”

Suzi Pratt / April 27, 2012
Photo Credit:

Mogwai has released a stream of their track, “Earth Division”, off the upcoming Occupy Wall Street compilation, Occupy This Album.

The compilation will feature 78 tracks in the physical CD version, and 100 songs on the digital edition. Music is provided by the likes of Yoko Ono, Tom Morello, Thee Oh Sees, Yo La Tengo, Willie Nelson and even filmmaker Michael Moore (doing a cover of Bob Dylan).  The effort was organized by Music for Occupy, and the full release will be available on May 15.

Take a sneak peek at “Earth Division” by Mogwai below.  The full track list can be found below the media player.


Disc 1:

01 Matt Pless: “Something’s Got to Give” *
02 Jackson Browne: “Come On, Come On, Come On: *
03 George Martinez & The Global Block Collective: “Occupation Freedom” *
04 Patti Smith: “People Have the Power” [Live in Marseille]
05 My Pet Dragon: “Love Anthem (Only Love)”
06 Loudon Wainwright III: “The Panic Is On”
07 Cosmonaut: “Occulture” *
08 papercranes: “Save Us [ft. Rain Phoenix] *
09 Jay Samel: “Smile (Get Up and Sing)” *
10 Tenderflex: “This Is What America Looks Like” [ft. Dynasty Electric, Ayler Young, Jay Rodriguez] *
11 Aeroplane Pageant: “Big Little Wolfs”
12 Alex Emanuel: “Agent 99” *
13 Deborah Harry: “Safety in Numbers” *
14 Richard Barone: “Hey, Can I Sleep On Your Futon?” *
15 Black Dragon: “Occupy Wall Street ‘Here Here Here'” *
16 Ladytron: “White Gold”
17 Gabriel Aldort: “Greed” *
18 Taj Weekes & Adowa: “Against the Machine” *
19 Lloyd Cole: “The Young Idealists”
20 Willie Nelson: “A Peaceful Solution”

Disc 2

21 Michael Moore: “The Times They Are A-Changin’” *
22 Ace Reporter: “The World Is on Fire”
23 The Middle Eight: “Latter Days”
24 Chroma: “Turn The Lights On”
25 Ani DiFranco: “Which Side Are You On?” *
26 Tao Rodriguez-Seeger: “Well May The World Go”
27 Thievery Corporation: “Unified Tribes” *
28 Thee Oh Sees: “Robber Barons”
29 Mike Rimbaud: “Saving Up to Go Bankrupt”
30 Nanci Griffith: “Hell No (I’m Not Alright)” *
31 Joseph Arthur: “We Stand as One” *
32 Girls Against Boys: “Cash Machine”
33 Junkyard Empire: “Rebellion Politik”
34 Anti-Flag: “Nothing Recedes Like Progress”
35 Fear Nuttin Band: “Rebel”
36 Jill Sobule with John Doe: “Under the Bridge”
37 Stephan Said: “Take a Stand”
38 UNKLE: “The Answer”
39 Tom Morello (The Nightwatchman): “World Wide Rebel Songs”
40 Third Eye Blind: “If There Ever Was a Time” *

Disc 3:

41 Yoko Ono: “Move on Fast”
42 Build the Sun: “If We Live” *
43 Our Lady Peace: “Fight the Good Fight” *
44 Julie B Bonnie: “I Don’t Need Money” *
45 Toots & the Maytals: “The World Is Turning”
46 Nickodemus [ft. The Real Live Show, Sadat X, ILLspokinN and Rabbi Darkside]: “A New York Minute”
47 Gentleman Brawlers: “I Ain’t No Brian Wilson” *
48 The Mammals [ft. Pete Seeger]: “Industrial Park”
49 Yo La Tengo & the Lost City Rumblers: “Big Fish” *
50 Harry Hayward: “Occu-Pie” *
51 Mystic Bowie: “Free” *
52 Los Cintron: “Oye Mi Voz” *
53 Carolyn Wonderland: “Walk On”
54 Garland Jefferys: “Coney Island Winter”
55 Joel Rafael: “China Basin Digs”
56 The Pimps of Joytime [ft. Roy Ayers]: “Walkin'”
57 Warren Haynes Band: “River’s Gonna Rise” *
58 Immortal Technique: “Rich Man’s World”
59 Danger Field: “Staying Out and Calling In” *

Disc 4:

60 James McMurtry with Joan Baez & Steve Earle: “We Can’t Make It Here” *
61 New Party Systems [ft. Kyp Malone]: “We Are” *
62 The Nova Echo: “Revolution” *
63 Born I Music: “Number One”
64 Dar Williams: “Play The Greed”
65 Ronny Elliott: “Broke Heart Blues” *
66 David Crosby & Graham Nash: “What Are Their Names” [Live] *
67 Dylan Chambers with Lester Chambers: “Make a Stand” *
68 Jenny Arnau: “Better Luck Next Time” *
69 Arlo Guthrie & Family: “All Over The World” *
70 Lauren Diamond [ft. Liz O’Donnell]: “We’re the 99” *
71 Mike + Ruthy: “We Are Human” *
72 Lucinda Williams: “Blessed”
73 Kanaska Carter: “Freedom of Speech” *
74 Rejectionist Front: “Reclaim”
75 Jasiri X: “Occupy (We the 99)”
76 Mogwai: “Earth Division” *
77 Occupy Wall Street Drummers and Paul Spitz: “Pulse” *
78 Hidden Bonus Track *

Digital Only:

79 Andrew Vladeck: “Chasing the Sun”
80 Greg Smith and The  Broken English: “Livin’ Like a Joker”
81 Aliza Hava: “Rise”
82 The Occubility Bros.: “Crashed IT, Stashed IT” *
83 Chris Pierce: “Invisible People”
84 Amanda Palmer: “Ukulele Anthem” *
85 Nadirah Shakoor: “Tree of Life”
86 Hanne Hukkelberg: “On My Wall”
87 Jason White: “Little Pieces of Plastic”
88 mfmadness: “Never Be Defeated”
89 Renegade Creation: “Greedy Life” *
90 Jesse Lenat: “99%”
91 The Swedes: “On The Dole”
92 Bill Mlotok: “Brazilia” *
93 Marcus Blake: “Don’t Taser Me, Bro!”
94 Angels of Vice: “We Are The 99”
95 The Layaways: “Silence”
96 Mother Feather: “Mother Feather” *
97 Thorin Caristo: “Common Man” *
98 Machan: “Everyday”
99 Vannucci [ft. Robert Brentley]: “Crashing Down” *
100 David Amram: “Time to Occupy” *

* Previously unreleased


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *